Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2022 | Office Holidays

Public Holidays in Tamil Nadu in 2021 | Office Holidays

Public holidays observed by private companies usually follow the Tamil Nadu Industrial Establishments (National and Festival Holidays) Act. The four national holidays, (26th January, 1st May, 15th August and 2nd October) are supplemented by five festival holidays selected from any of the festivals given the religious and regional interests of the employees

Day Date Holiday Name Type Comments
Saturday New Year's Day Regional Holiday Several states
Friday Pongal Regional Holiday
Friday Uzhavar Tirunal Regional Holiday Puducherry, Tamil Nadu only
Saturday Thiruvalluvar Day Regional Holiday Puducherry, Tamil Nadu
Wednesday Republic Day Public Holiday
Friday Bank Holiday Not A Public Holiday Banks only. Annual accounts closing
Saturday Telugu New Year's Day Regional Holiday Telugu and Kannada New Year
Thursday Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Regional Holiday
Thursday Tamil New Year Regional Holiday Puthandu. Tamil Nadu only
Thursday Mahaveer Jayanthi Regional Holiday The most important religious holiday in Jainism
Friday Good Friday Regional Holiday
Sunday Labour Day Regional Holiday Many states
Tuesday Ramzan Regional Holiday Most states
Sunday Bakrid Regional Holiday Many states
Thursday Ashura Regional Holiday Many states
Monday Independence Day Public Holiday
Friday Krishna Jayanthi Regional Holiday Many states
Wednesday Ganesh Chaturthi Regional Holiday Varasiddhi Vinayaka Vrata
Sunday Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Public Holiday Gandhi Jayanti
Tuesday Ayutha Pooja Regional Holiday Several states
Tuesday Dussehra Regional Holiday Vijaya Dashami
Sunday Maulud Nabi Regional Holiday Birthday of Prophet Muhammad
Monday Deepavali Regional Holiday Many states
Sunday Christmas Day Regional Holiday Observed in all states

Note: The above list of Tamil Nadu holidays is applicable across the state. Also, it’s for cities listed below:

  • Chennai
  • Coimbatore
  • Madurai
  • Tiruchirappalli
  • Salem
  • Vellore
  • Tiruppur
  • Thanjavur
  • Erode
  • Thoothukudi
  • Rameswaram
  • Ooty
  • Kodaikanal
  • Hosur

Check: India Public Holidays List 2023

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *